I love stripes on many chairs, but they look particularly good on these kinds of dining room chairs, they make these two chairs look extremely smart.

Before

The stuffing on the chair with arms was in good condition, so it just needed recovering in a new top fabric.  The dull coloured fabric was replaced with a gorgeous decking strip.

After

Striped fabrics need to be carefully centred.  I made some double piping from the same fabric to trim the edges, which also gives a very smart finish.

 

Before

The seat of the other chair was starting to sag, so it needed to be completely reupholstered.  I stripped it back to the frame, where I found some signs of woodworm, so I gave it a spray. The chair was then rewebbed.  It had been previously stuffed with horsehair, so this was saved and washed with plenty of fabric softener, and then reused.  Once restuffed and covered with a layer of scrim, I stitched around the edge a couple of times, and then stitched a rolled edge.

After

The seat now looked a lot plumper . A cream and red strip was used to cover this chair.  There was no need for any trimmings this time, as the top fabric was secured underneath the chair.

